Should I give up, or should I just keep chasing placements?

Finding a placement can be a challenging and stressful time, but there is a lot of advice and help out there to guide you. Undertaking a placement will put you ahead of the rest of your classmates when it comes to applying for graduate jobs.

I build myself up and fly around in circles, wait then as my heart drops and my back begins to tingle, finally could this be it, or… Should I give up or should I just keep chasing placements?

Where should I start?

Decide what you want to do! This may sound silly, but you need to decide exactly what you want to experience. Are you studying Biosciences and only want to work for Cancer Research and nowhere else, or are you happy to work anywhere in the field? Do you need to earn money? Will you need to move? Thinking about your priorities and needs is the best first step.

Where can I find placements?

Here are a few of the websites that advertise placements:

Will doing a placement really help me in the long run?

Without a doubt, it will. Not only will you learn real-life employability skills, you’ll make connections in companies and find out about the industry you’re interested in working in. And when that company starts recruiting, they’re more likely to want to recruit the people they know!

“Research shows that without work experience 52% of graduate employers rate your chances of receiving a job offer as ‘not very likely’”

“…up to 71% of graduate jobs can be filled by the placement students of those organisations…”

– Ratemyplacement.co.uk

Leave a Reply

