Guest post by BUNAC: Work America – a student’s view.

If I could offer you one piece of advice, Work America would be it…

January 2012

I’m back to University for the 2nd half my 2nd year. It’s cold in London and I’m looking forward to the summer break already, although the prospect of going to work in the same café as the last two summers doesn’t overwhelm me with enthusiasm. There must be something more exciting I can do!?! Searching online for inspiration, I stumble upon BUNAC and Work America. My dream summer starts here!

March 2012

Through BUNAC I’ve got a job secured at a Yacht Club on Long Island in NEW YORK! I can barely contain myself when I think about what I’m going to be doing in three months. With BUNAC’s help I obtain my Visa and book flights; the countdown begins to my four months in the U.S.A!!

June, July, August and September 2012

I’m in the States and the months fly by; the adventure I’m on is incredible. The work is hard, long days in sweltering heat at a busy Yacht Club, even the residents are struggling! All of that is eclipsed by the amazing time I’m having. I travel all around Long Island, visiting the Hamptons and the amazing beaches. I also see Atlantic City, which is unforgettable, Connecticut, Miami and Chicago!

Bunac 1 bunac2 bunac3

The staff and their families have made me feel so welcome and I’m being taken out to dinner and having lots of home cooked meals too. They take me on tours around the local towns and all around Manhattan, to see the tourist spots, the Statue of Liberty, Central Park, 5th Avenue and Radio City to name but a few, as well as the gems that only true New Yorkers know about. Best summer ever!

A year on

I’m still telling everyone I meet about my BUNAC Work America summer in the States and I’m still in touch with the American friends I found last year. The experience is more than I could have ever imagined and I can’t recommend it enough to other students. Seize the opportunity to travel abroad!

 – Jen, Marketing and Sales Intern at BUNAC

If you’re interested in work, volunteer and intern programmes abroad, visit BUNAC.org/uk

Leave a Reply

