Milli Midwood (student blog) – She’s in fashion!

Over the course of my life, I’ve embraced a number of different hobbies, but none of them have changed my life or brought me as much satisfaction as blogging. In almost too many ways to count, it has aided my future and my career in means I didn’t even know were possible.

I started a fashion blog as a hobby and a personal tool to share my thoughts, outfit creations, inspirations, designer wish lists, exhibitions, favourite ensembles and just a general creative outlet. But somewhere along the line I actually gained a readership – people actually liked what I was writing!

I reached out to the university and got involved in the student run magazine, The Medwire, where I began writing a fashion feature every term and writing weekly for the website. A whole world of blogging stemmed from this and I was subsequently contacted by another online fashion site, My Student Style, who asked me to blog for them as well.

Before I knew it a friend had heard of a summer internship at OK! Magazine and recommended by blog to the editor, and in a whirlwind of events I was offered the job, all because of my blog! I am now regularly contacted by brands, companies and designers, most recently House of Fraser, to feature them on my blog. It truly is a dream job.

Blogging has changed my life in so many ways; I don’t know where I’d be now without it! It opens a whole new career path and is useful in so many ways:

  • In its most organic form, writing is communication. It’s about recording opinions on paper and convincing others to agree with them. Through this you’ll become a better writer; it just happens naturally the more you blog.
  • You’ll develop an eye for things and allow yourself to think of it contextually. Blogging is a never-ending process of choosing to articulate events and thoughts – you’ll see what I mean when you get into it!
  • One of my favourite things about blogging is meeting new people. Be it through events, email or social media, the blogging community is friendly and all about networking.
  • It’s all about personal style and no one can take that away from you. In some jobs you’ll always find yourself working underneath someone, having to represent a company’s image, writing or presenting yourself in a certain way that isn’t quite true to you. However blogging is all about being unique.
  • It’s free! Two words every student loves to hear.
  • Potential employers LOVE it. It shows you’re proactive, interested, inspired, passionate, driven…an endless list of attractive CV adjectives.
  • And after all that, as a bonus, you might just make a bit of money! (Or in my case, be sent a few free clothes – how can a girl resist?)

I never really set out to be a blogger, I was never even an avid follower of any before I started my own—but within a couple of months of blogging I knew something was going to take off. Blogging has been one of the most important components to my career, it’s a powerful tool professionally and personally and a highly recommended implement to all!

– Milli Midwood, final year Fine Art student. Read her blog here.

Leave a Reply

