The day we caught the train, ohh ohh, laa laa!

…or “Why you should apply to the B:KEW bursary fund for help with travel costs for unpaid work!”

The Careers and Employability Service still has a limited number of B:KEW bursaries available to students undertaking unpaid work experience. These bursaries help towards the cost of travel during the first three weeks of your work experience. This academic year, students have undertaken a variety of experiences in fields such as journalism, finance, arts, teaching, charity, law, heritage, health and arts.

Here are some of the ways in which B:KEW has benefitted students:

“For this placement, I travelled around 70 miles per week, driving to and from work as well as during working hours. When I decided to do the placement I hadn’t quite considered how expensive this would be due to the amount of petrol used. I appreciate that the University of Kent Work Experience Bursary will at least contribute to this cost.”

“My experience working with children will be very relevant for my final year of university. I feel that it will be very helpful to be able to apply theories learnt at university to a real-life setting. I would like to use this opportunity to thank the University for refunding my travel expenses as my opportunity would not be possible without this.”

“I am very grateful for the experience as I felt it restored my passion in the film industry. I learned many things and enhanced my skills but within a different area of film to what I have done before.”

“Through this internship I further developed my communication, networking, timekeeping and research skills. I have learnt a great deal about my own capabilities and how important these experiences are. I feel that I can thrive in different environments and that I am greatly adaptable.”

Research shows that you are more likely to get a graduate job offer after your degree if you have undertaken some work experience, so why not take advantage of this funding to help you achieve your full potential?

The application process is easy! Simply familiarise yourself with the terms and conditions and send us a completed short application form, available here.

Leave a Reply

