Meet the team: Gemma Traquair, Employability Adviser

My name is Gemma and I work as part of a team of four Employability Advisers here at the University of Kent. We offer support and guidance to students, graduates and University staff on the different initiatives at Kent that can help you to develop your employability skills and how to get involved with them. We also provide advice on job-seeking and on making applications for placements, internships and graduate jobs. Each Faculty has an Employability Adviser based in the Careers and Employability Service.

I am the Employability Adviser for the Faculty of Social Sciences. The Faculty of Social Sciences includes the schools of Anthropology and Conservation, Business, Economics, Law, Politics and International Relations, Psychology and Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research.

I work closely with Employability and Academic Staff in each of my Academic Schools supporting their employability initiatives and assisting them when an extra pair of hands is needed for the excellent work that they do in schools. I run ‘pop up’ sessions in schools where students can come to see me for employability advice within their school. I might also run subject specific workshops and presentations for students within Academic Schools or arrange for employers to come in and deliver sessions pertinent to the students of that particular school.

As well as my work in Academic Schools I also run the annual CV competition where students can submit their CV to be in with a chance of winning work experience with local organisations. I also help with the organisation of the Employability Festival which includes the Careers Fair and this year a Work and Study Abroad Fair. I am responsible for the administration of the B:KEW scheme which is a bursary for students partaking in unpaid work experience. As an Employability Adviser I contribute to our social media and blog sites. All the Employability Advisers cover drop in here in the Careers and Employability building. Students can use this service for quick queries and CV checks. We also run a number of Kent Extra Employability Courses throughout the year.

I have a degree in Psychology and a Post Graduate Diploma in Career Guidance. Prior to working at the University I had a number of different roles including working as a Careers Adviser for the Connexions Service, running my own career guidance business, working in a museum and working as an events coordinator.

I am always happy to speak with students and look forward to working with you soon.

Leave a Reply

