Welcome to the Hotel Work-Experience-a!

Such a lovely place…such a lovely place…

I completed two weeks’ unpaid work experience in the Human Resources Department of The Dorchester, a hotel in Mayfair, London. The University of Kent Work experience bursary was so helpful as I had to buy peak train and tube tickets for my 10 days’ work, as well as suitable clothing and footwear as the standards at the hotel are very high.

The work experience itself was invaluable as prior to it, I was unsure if Human Resources was the right career path for me. It has inspired me to aim for a similar career once I leave university and has also provided me with some useful contacts should I ever need any future work experience, or perhaps a summer job.

dorchester

From day 1 of the placement I was given responsibility, and this included tasks such as ringing potential candidates and conducting telephone screenings with them, calling new employees and ensuring they were ready for their first day at work, helping to prepare training materials and other general office tasks.

As well as gaining an insight into a career in human resources, it also made me realise that I would perhaps like to pursue a career in human resources in a hospitality environment such as The Dorchester. Each day was different in this environment and that was something that I thoroughly enjoyed.

– Charlotte Goff is a 3rd year, studying Psychology and Law.

Leave a Reply

