You’re never gonna break me, sticks and stones never gonna shake me

The University of Kent Work Experience Bursary has enabled me to undertake a week of work experience at Thackray Williams, a law firm in Bromley. The Bursary helped financially as I had to travel from Canterbury to Bromley for the whole week which was very expensive! Without the Bursary I would have struggled financially to gain such a beneficial experience.

img

As a result of my work experience I gained an invaluable insight into the workings of a law firm and particularly the field of personal injury. I was fortunate to be given a lot of responsibility, client contact and visits to court. I was tasked with and thoroughly enjoyed reviewing case files, drafting attendance notes and drafting schedules for special damages as this reflected the daily tasks of a trainee.

Furthermore this week has helped me by showing me an area of law that is incredibly interesting and something I now want to pursue in my LPC. As well as this I made some valuable contacts in the field of personal injury, family law and debt collection. I am now hoping to apply for a training contract at Thackray Williams as I enjoyed its work culture and the support and experiences I was given. I was also able to meet some of the current trainees at Thackray Williams who were very happy at the firm and recommended it as a place of work. I have been encouraged to return for another period of work experience over the summer which is something I definitely hope to do.

– Leigh Leach is a 3rd year, studying Law.

Leave a Reply

