I don’t care what my teachers say, I’m gonna be a supermodel

I would firstly like to thank the B-KEW bursary team for allowing me to experience a truly useful and inspiring internship which has kick-started my career within PR.

Debenhams is the UK’s leading multi-channel retail company consisting of many thriving and exciting brands, commanded by its dedicated employees. I was welcomed into the PR team where I supported and shadowed an existing PR assistant in daily duties consisting of: sample management, admin, research, blogger/press communication and pr event co-ordination. This experience heightened and matured my natural flair for communication in a professional environment, building upon my love for team work and event-management.

Lydia
It was beneficial to observe PR managers and assistant’s dedication and passion to their role. It provided a fantastic basis for me to discuss in future PR job interviews.

A highlight for me was being given the responsibility to play a large role in the management of a Matthew Williamson SS16 Press show at the glamorous Ritz hotel. I bought, and distributed goody bags, invited attendees, taking photographs for social media, and circulating the room, talking to many journalists from the likes of Vogue Italia and Harper’s Bazaar. This event gave me a real insight into the preparation, management and exposure of the event. I later monitored attendees’ social media pages, examining the success of the event for meetings with the PR team.

The success of this three week work experience brought about a job opportunity with the company that I am being considered for in August 2016. This proved to me how important work experience is when kick-starting your professional career, it can help build upon your networking skills with the possibility of job opportunities.

– Lydia Poulteney is a recent graduate in Film from the University of Kent

Leave a Reply

