Get Out Of My Dreams, Get Into My Car

Without a doubt, one of the best summers I have had so far. The CRCC Asia internship has truly exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend it to anyone willing to take on new challenges and at the same time exploring a completely different culture.

For my month in Beijing I was interning at Goldenport, gaining invaluable insight into the Chinese automotive industry as well as experiencing the Chinese business culture firsthand. During my time with Goldenport I was involved with various teams but my main role was to assist the marketing manager. Therefore my primary tasks consisted of developing social media platforms in order to establish a greater online presence, researching new clients and ensuring the client-media database was kept up to date for further preparation for their next race series China GT Round 2 which was staged at the Shanghai International Circuit.

I was fortunate enough to have two brilliant supervisors who mentored and gave me further insight into the Chinese work culture regarding the automotive sector and explained the importance of maintaining good working relationships (guanxi).

Other than work, CRCC planned many social events to get to know the other interns such as the famous welcome banquet, networking seminars and of course KTV night. This gave all the interns a good platform to form lifelong friendships with likeminded people from all over the world. I was fortunate enough to go camping on the Great Wall for a night organized by CRCC’s partner the Dragon Trip. I highly recommend taking part in it as it truly was an experience of a lifetime accompanied with some great friends, and memories I will always cherish.

In addition Beijing itself offers so many things that it is impossible for you to get bored. Being located in the 798 district you are very close to most of the sightseeing spots, bars and nightclubs. Experiencing the hustle and bustle of the capital allows you to confront challenges outside the workplace as you get exposed to a new culture and way of life, which will change the way you perceive your own culture.

I am so grateful that the University gave me this fantastic opportunity. I believe that I am now more employable, confident with the skills I have acquired and have a better appreciation for travelling and exploring the unknown. Most importantly, I now have better insight into what I want to pursue for my future career.

– Christopher Yu is a 2nd year Business Information Technology student at the University of Kent.

Leave a Reply

