I get knocked down but I get up again

Searching for a placement I eagerly checked my exam results, hoping for a 2:1.  You can imagine my shock and disappointment when I realised I had achieved a 2:2. I was determined to continue my search for a placement despite my disappointment.  True to being forewarned, a lot of positions weren’t interested in anything less than the 2:1 I’d been warned about and some even wanted a 1st! But, so many companies were more than happy to take someone with a 2:2 if they could prove they had the necessary skills.

“But… what are this necessary skills?!” I hear you cry…! Teamwork and communication and problem solving skills, oh my! Exactly the kind of experience you get from being involved in societies and volunteering and where better to get involved than Uni?! I personally have been on the committee of the Physics society for two years (I did a foundation year as well) as well as mundane little things like a part-time job back home, all of it added up until I was accepted and moved up the scale of various applications, through the psychometric testing of multiple companies, assessment centres and interviews, until all of that hard work finally culminated into the pearl at the centre of the oyster: the job offer!

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not always sunshine and roses! For every stage of one offer I got through, I was rejected form nine others but the thing you need to remember is: life is full of knockbacks and disappointments but it’s the good times (like finally getting that offer!) that really make it all worthwhile.

I’m going to insert a shameless plug in here: The Employability Service are INCREDIBLE. Without their CV workshops, drop-in sessions and support I wouldn’t be where I am today. The team there really know their stuff (after all: their job is to help you get your job!) and couldn’t have been more supportive and caring if they tried.

Long story short: I’m going on the placement of my dreams in July, earning real money and gaining life-skills that will serve me well for years to come, despite the tears and frustrations of repeated rejections, I have finally got the placement! The opportunities are there if you can just reach out and grab it!

 

I did and I’m never looking back.

 

Kieren Scott, BSc Physics

Leave a Reply

