And dream of sheep

On a cold day in February, I had the fantastic opportunity to come across Romney Marsh Wools, a small but at the same time flourishing family business in Kent, founded in 2008. The family farm has re-introduced the many uses for their Romney wool by bringing to the public luxurious products such as hats, scarves, throws, lanolin-based toiletries and natural creams to name but a few. My strong interest in social media and communication as well as a family past in the knitwear industry blended perfectly for the position of Social Media Marketer and encouraged me to apply for it through the University of Kent’s CV Competition.

2

I was called for an interview and at my arrival, Kristina Boulden, one of the company’s owners with Paul Boulden, welcomed me warmly to the farm. As I entered the office, I noticed the countless number of prizes and posts covering the office walls, which surrounded the small desk, where all the intensive marketing activity takes place. The rest happens in the remaining thousand acres in which the sheep farming occurs. Two weeks later, I received the delightful news that I had been accepted for the position.

On my first day of work, I had the opportunity to meet Emma, the Digital Marketing Manager, who together with Kristina introduced me to the many facets of the business and opened my eyes to the fascinating history of Romney wool in the South-Eastern Region. During the two weeks, I had to carry out a variety of tasks including posting on social media, creating a newsletter, updating the products on their website as well as coming up with new ideas for promotions to increase the number of followers on the various social media platforms. For my work project, I had also to conduct some market research which involved contacting various retailers in the UK and asking them about their customers shopping habits, buying behaviour and demographics to be used for the marketing campaign. In addition, I had to use Mailchimp to create a promotional newsletter on Aragon Yarns, a supplier of the business and add their vast range of products on the company’s website. It was very challenging and at the same time incredibly rewarding because I could contribute with my ideas directly to the reality of the business. In one of the tasks, I even had to write a blog post on sheep farming, something which I had never done before and this greatly contributed to broaden my knowledge on the many different activities on a farm.

1

Being on a small family business, you can really feel part of each stage of the process from the production to the very final product and integrate all of them in your marketing campaign. There is so much you can do every single day on a farm and being knowledgeable is not enough: you need passion for the job. The hard work of Kristina, Paul, Emma and all other farmers is a testimony to this, which rendered my experience at the farm even more inspiring.

In the two weeks at Romney Marsh Wools, I have learnt so much not only about a job but also about a lifestyle. My thanks go to Kristina, Paul and Emma and the University of Kent Employability Service for making this experience possible.

– Valeria Trabattoni is a 1st year Psychology student at the University of Kent

Leave a Reply

